Retro Radio Hour: Holiday Special – Performer Spotlight – Peter Grant Mackechnie

Peter Grant Mackechnie is one of Bygone’s go-to-guys for music. He played the keyboard for “Doubt: A Parable” and for our first “Retro Radio Hour”, and now is back again to lend his musical talents!

Peter Grant Mackechnie

Peter Grant Mackechnie

What made you want to be a part of Bygone Theatre’s “Retro Radio Hour: Holiday Special”?
I really love the idea of presenting authentic scripts from the golden age of radio plays as they actually would have sounded. Nostalgia and relics of days gone by appeal to me! One of my roles in the show is as an improviser of music and advertisement jingles to go along with the plays, and it’s fun to think about and imitate the style of cheesy, heavy-handed music that accompanied radio dramas.

What is your favourite holiday tv special?
I was actually never big on gooshy TV specials or things like that, my family was… not so holiday-oriented, I guess? Although, if movies are an acceptable answer, I really like National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.

What is your fondest holiday memory?
The Christmas the Nintendo Gamecube came out. It launched with Super Smash Bros. Melee, and I and several friends got it and spent that entire holiday playing it. Ah, 2001.

What is your most funniest holiday memory?
Funniest? Well, my cats always used to pee on the tree and/or knock it over (we had a lot of cats). That necessitated my parents tying the tree to the wall with fishing line so it wouldn’t keep falling and smashing all the ornaments. I thought it was pretty funny, my Mom didn’t.

What are you most excited for in regards to “Retro Radio Hour”? Why should everyone come to see it?
I’m excited to perform! The radio format allows me to just play some music, read some scripts that are a lot of fun and feature all kinds of wacky characters, and kind of get an interesting window into the minds of people in the 40s (etc.). It’s neat to see the way their biases, gender roles, opinions, and the general ways the wind was blowing come through in the dramas of the era.

 

Leave a Reply

