Kill Sister, Kill! A Musical – Cast Spotlight – Heather Motut

Heather plays tough-as-nails bartender Teresa in the upcoming Kill Sister, Kill! A Musical.
Tell us a bit about yourself.
My name is Heather Motut and I am an actor/singer.  I do both of those things, sometimes at the same time!  I’ve done a little bit of everything: plays, musicals, film, television, improv, and sketch comedy. I love any kind of collaborative project that allows me to work with fellow creative types in the community.  In Kill Sister, Kill!, I  play Teresa, the brassy, trashy, punk bartender who works by choice at “The Butt-hole,”  the most garbage establishment in New York City.
How did you first hear about the production?
I heard about this production through Jamieson.  We were on set for another project and he told me about the auditions.

What has been your favourite moment of the rehearsal process so far?
My favourite moment of the rehearsal process was the call back.  It was the first time I got to work with the material and I had an absolute blast.  It was also the first time I saw Astrid and Samantha work together, and I thought they were the bees knees.  Seeing these ladies, and hearing Drac and Jamieson’s hilarious script, and Mike’s gorgeous music, made me really want to be a part of this show.

Tell us about your character – what do you like best about her? What do you find challenging?
Teresa is an absolute treat to play.  She’s Queen of the Dregs for sure, but she’s got a good heart and is a smart judge of character. She stands up for people being abused or taken advantage of.  She sees Ronnie for the good egg he is and takes an interest in his making something of himself, something better than just his brother’s lackey. I love how honest and irreverent she can be.  Teresa is a true punk who celebrates complete freedom of action and attitude. It’s such a joy to play a character that is so  uninhibited, and I get to indulge so many delicious parts of my personality. The New York dialect definitely presents a challenge, but I’m finding so much of it comes from an attitude more than anything.  Watching a lot of George Carlin’s stuff has really helped me find that “Balls to the Wall” attitude this character needs.

Why should people come see the show?
I think people should come see this show because its going to be a lot of fun. Where else are you gonna see ”Kill Bill meets Sister Act” !?!!!??!?!?  It’s one of the most electric, bold, and joyous productions I’ve ever been involved in.  I’m a fan of anyone who takes risks in what they create, and the people involved in this production should get a friggen medal for that.
Have any funny rehearsal stories to share?
I have absolutely no funny or embarrassing rehearsal anecdotes to share. Rehearsals have all been very run of the mill, restrained, and all business all the time.  Very little fun has been had by anyone, and we’ve really kept a lid on silliness and mischief of any kind. Very serious bunch.
Check out Heather on the off-Broadway stage at Theatre 80, August 26-30, 2015. Tickets available now online.
Leave a Reply

