Kill Sister, Kill! A Musical – Cast Spotlight – Felicity Adams-Hannigan

Felicity Adams-Hannigan or Fifi as most of us call her plays Kourtney, the hooker, in Kill Sister, Kill!

Tell us about yourself.

I play Kourtney the local hooker. I’ve envisioned her from the beginning as that party girl who came into the city from the suburbs one weekend, and just never took the train home.

This is the first time workshopping a musical for me, and my first time doing an original musical. Before this all of my work has been roles already originated by somebody else. This time I haven’t had anybody else’s interpretation influencing me, and that has been so scary, but so amazing at the same time. That being said, my favourite roles up until now have probably been Rossignol in Marat/Sade (Soup Can Theatre), Young Phyllis in Follies (Wavestage Theatre) and Pinkalicious in Pinkalicious the Musical (Vital Theatre).

How did you first hear about the production? 

I heard about the production through my friend Astrid (playing Kitty) who introduced me to Emily of Bygone Theatre through one of their Retro Radio Hours. I then met Michael the composer and musical director at a theatrical event in the city and he mentioned they were still searching for people and the rest is history. (Found out later at the same event I had met Jamie the director, but I didn’t know that’s who he was at the time). So, moral of the story: get your butt out to events! You never know what cool productions you’ll be hearing about.

What has been your favourite moment of the rehearsal process so far?

Hands down when our lovely director pointed at me and said “this, is a low level hooker”. Hopefully in reference to Kourtney, and not me.Tell us about your character – what do you love about her?

I liken Kourtney to a struggling actress. She knows she’s hooking in the minor leagues right now, but in her mind she’s just waiting for her big break. I’m loving her and mooky because they are much needed comedic relief in a very dark world.

Why do you think people should come see the show?

Because I’m in it, duh??!!
Okay, being serious, the feminist tones of the show appeal to me. I love that it’s a woman taking back the night. This is something I hold dear to my heart the older I get as I do not want my daughters (future tense) to live in a world where they think that if they are out late, or dress a certain way, or talk a certain way that they are asking for any kind of harassment from men.

Any funny rehearsal anecdotes to share?

When I sing high above the staff, I’ll admit it’s a challenge to even out my vibrato. One rehearsal Heather (Teresa) pointed out that I was an operatic hooker, and now during certain parts of songs I can’t stop giggling when I listen to myself.

Anything else we should know?

Just that this girl can now cross an item off her life “to do” list. NYC stage before age thirty!

Leave a Reply

