Cast Spotlight: Abby Strachan

1.Tell us a bit about yourself, what do you do when you’re not rehearsing for Wait Until Dark?

I recently turned fifteen and am in grade nine. At my high school I major in Drama as well as taking Advanced Placement courses in order to challenge myself academically. I love to read and write poems and stories. I’ve been dancing since I was 4 and that’s when I really found my love of performing. I’ve also been teaching dance to younger dancers since I was twelve and I love babysitting and working with kids.

2.How did you hear about the show? What made you want to get involved?

I heard about the show through mandy.com and I wanted to be involved because I love theatre and I think that the concept of Wait Until Dark is so cool because the main character is a blind woman who saves herself.

3.What has been your favourite moment in rehearsal so far?

For me this show’s been great because I’ve learned so much from the people around me. Everyone is very talented and I’ve learned a lot about acting and the industry.

4.How do you prepare for playing a role like Gloria?

In order to prepare for Gloria, I really just spent a lot of time trying to understand her choices and her thought process. Gloria as a character is pretty sad because she has such a tough home life and even though she acts really tough (and mean sometimes) she’s really just a little kid.

5.Why should everyone come see the show?

Everyone should come see Wait Until Dark because it’s very unique considering the time it was written in. In this day in age everyone’s talking more and more about female empowerment, and I believe that this play demonstrates a strong female lead. It’s also a really fun thriller!

6. Anything else you want to add? 

Thanks to my family especially my mom for getting me to and from rehearsals and to my friends in drama at school for being so supportive.

Are you a high school student interested in theatre? Take advantage of our PA Day Discount and see Abby onstage Friday April 15th at 1pm – tickets only $15 for students with valid id, buy them online now.

Leave a Reply

