Cast Spotlight: Chris Peterson

chrispeterson

Bio: I’m originally from the U.S. and have been in Canada for almost 5 years. I’ve gone away and come back to acting a few times in my life, including studying at the Stella Adler Studio of Acting in NYC and performing in theatre/film projects there before taking a 10-year break to have a “real” job, etc., including 8 years as a Digital Producer (among other things) at Nickelodeon/MTV. After being laid off 2.5 years ago for my second time since moving to TO and my fourth time overall, I decided to return once again to my first love of acting and never leave again. Since then, performances have included August: Osage County (Alumnae), Four Hours (Alumnae New Ideas Festival), Sorry, Wrong Number/The Hitchhiker (Plain Stage), and Alone Together (Scarborough Players).  Starting Thursday after HGF closes, I will also be part of David Auburn’s Pulitzer Prize-winning Proof at the Red Sandcastle Theatre. In addition to theatre/film/tv projects, I’m also a puppeteer with The Concerned Kids charity (so if you’ve got kids, book us to perform at their school!). More at chrispeterson.me and facebook/chrispetersonactor.

How did you hear about Bygone Theatre and this production of His Girl Friday?

Much of the last couple of years has been spent immersing myself in the TO performing scene and I am always learning about new (to me) theatre companies, etc. Last year I learned about Bygone from the audition listing for their production of Wait Until Dark, but I was involved with the amazing August: Osage County at Alumnae so wasn’t able to submit. This time I happily was.

What made you want to be involved?/ what do you love about the story?

I hadn’t seen the original film, but I’m a definite fan of films from that era and the fast-paced action and humour. I also love the sound and rhythms of the dialogue and transatlantic accent. Even the characters who seem maybe not-so-great in this story are completely lovable, plus any reason to think about Cary Grant is a good reason.

What’s your favourite old movie?

There are still plenty I need to see, but off the top of my head – Singing in the Rain, Funny Face, and Casablanca.

Have you been in a show like this before? What else might people have seen you in recently?

Last May I was in a double bill of The Hitchhiker and Sorry, Wrong Number with Plain Stage Theatre, both originally part of Orson Welles’ radio program. Most recently, I was part of Unit 102’s Operation 24 this past December – 6 plays cast, written, directed, learned, and performed in 24 hours – which was crazy and amazing.s

Why should people come and see the show?

It’s funny and maybe even more important lots of fun, it’s got a great (and huge) cast and production team, and these older stories/films are called classics for a reason. Bring your parents/grandparents.

Anything else you want us to know?

Come see the show, and then go see Proof (it won a Pulitzer for a reason, and I get the feels at every rehearsal) either of the following two weekends, and then please keep on supporting local theatre and comedy and dance and art! Also, keep an eye/ear out for the new serial podcast Frequency which should be launching this month.

See Chris onstage March 2-5, and help support him and the show by making a donation through FWYC.

Leave a Reply

